Easy and Simple Retro Hairstyles

Posted on

finished retro Collage

instagram retro twist Collage

I love retro hairstyles. They are so easy to create yet very cute. So, here’s two styles that work on curly or straight hair.

P1040262 You’ll need bobby pins and a hair band.

retro updo Collage

The night before, I used Curlformers to create a more defined curl. While I love my Curlformers, sometimes they can look a little Shirley Temple-like (nothing’s wrong with Shirley if that’s the look you’re going for). To stretch my curls, I wrap the ringlets around my head (as if I were wrapping my hair) and pin with a bobby pin.

Step 1: Separate hair into two sections and tie the top section out of the way.

Step 2: Roll/tuck bottom section.

Step 3: Secure roll with bobby pins.

Step 4: Part hair on the side. Leaving a small section from the front (crown) out, roll/tuck top section.

Step 5: Secure roll with bobby pins.

Srep 6: Take strands from the front section and drape across forehead and pin in place. Continue doing this until all the curls are pinned.

I added a headbeand to give this look a little more elegance.

 

Here’s a modern twist on the first hairstyle.

modern twist Collage

 

Step 1: Part hair on the side and roll/tuck one side halfway around your head.

Step 2: Secure roll with bobby pins.

Step 3: Take strands from the front section and drape across forehead and pin in place.

Step 4: Pull on curls to stretch them. Fluff hair and pin any hair in place.

Step 5: All finished!

Let me know if you try either of these styles!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

