DIY Newspaper Garland

Posted on Updated on

IMG_20140103_163515

Okay. Once again, I have a new obsession…NEWSPAPER. Plus, I have so much of it laying around. I can envision all of the things I can make from newspaper.

Anyway, I saw this awesome scroll garland on Bird’s Party Blog. The garland was made using cardstock. Since I have all of this newspaper, I decided to use newspaper.

Here’s what you’ll need:

newspaper items

garland tutorial

Step 1: Cut newspaper into strips (about 1in).

Step 2: Roll a strip of newspaper into a circle.

Step 3: Use a paper clip to attach the roll to another strip.

Step 4: Repeat steps 2 & 3.

Step 5: Fold a strip in half, but don’t crease it.

Step 6: Repeat step 5.

Step 7: Cut a strip in half. Fold that strip in half, once again, don’t crease it.

Step 8: Repeat step 7.

Step 9: Staple the strips and remove the paper clip.

Step 10: Staple another strip to the strip that sticks out.

Step 11: Repeat steps 2-10.

newspaper garland

You can make your garland as short or as long as you’d like. Some things to keep in mind…because the newspaper is not thick, you’ll need to staple some of your loops together to make your garland sturdier. Also, trim some of those shaggy ends as needed.

It took me about 20 minutes to make one garland. Yikes! I know…As crazy as it sounds, I plan on making more of them to spice up one of my walls…when I have time.

garland photo

More newspaper crafts to come.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

